Welcome to HBH! If you had an account on hellboundhacker.org you will need to reset your password using the Lost Password system before you will be able to login.

botguards!

Syz

0 0

So, I had fun checking out some of googles code because well…I was bored, and I'm trying to learn as much as I can about how code works and my way of doing that is coding and reading code. Anywho, I found this fun part of their code:

/* Anti-spam. Want to say hello? Contact (base64) Ym90Z3VhcmQtY29udGFjdEBnb29nbGUuY29tCg== */

Obviously there's something coded to base64 there, and it says when decoded: botguard-contact@google.com

So, out of curiousity, anyone seen this before? And, why are they having this up? Is this a common way among larger websites like google to keep bots off? Anything else you can tell me about it that I most likely don't know?

Oh, and please delete anything that's not appropriate in this if there's anything!

Also, I'm a newbie, so keep in mind I want to learn and therefore I ask!

Syz

0 0

Seriously? No one? Hm…Maybe I've discovered something maaajoooor….or not. Any ideas, please do tell! I've been checking around the internet for hours..

0 -1

Syz wrote: Seriously? No one? Hm…Maybe I've discovered something maaajoooor….or not. Any ideas, please do tell! I've been checking around the internet for hours..

Not at all. You should just email them and ask what that email address is for.

I googled around and found a forum post and this is a comment in the javascript of the code that was posted there:

markup/* This is an anti-spam system. Want to say hello? botguard-questions@google.com. Remember, don't help the bad guys. */

Read the code after the comment and it's probably exactly what it says. It's way too long for me to delve into because I have to go to work in half an hour and I have homework to do when I get home.

Syz wrote: I'm trying to learn as much as I can about how code works and my way of doing that is coding and reading code.