Welcome to HBH! If you had an account on hellboundhacker.org you will need to reset your password using the Lost Password system before you will be able to login.

getting wireless internet to work on ubuntu

0 0

hi

i have an atheros ar5007eg wireless card

but ubuntu can't use it

it says it is a restricted driver or something

can anybody help me out?

how would i install a driver for this?

im completely new to linux so i have no idea what to do lol

thanks,

kyul :D

0 0

Try using the windows driver for it through ndiswrapper. There's loads of tutorials out there so I won't go into it here.

0 0

welcome to hell then!

i have dealt with this before, although different model of card.

Because it was a different card i can't spell it out for you but research these things if you want that damn card to work.

1. enable restricted drivers.
  2. investigate NDISWrapper…you will likely need it to make your driver work
  3. you may need to use whatever driver is available out there–meaning making ndiswrapper use WinXPs driver
  4. unless they fixed it since feisty, WEP and WPA dont work none too good with that ubuntus network manager–investigate using an alternative IF you cant connect to encrypted[EDIT: protected, not encrypted] Wifi. I wrote a manual for feisty setup on a dell vostro (mainly collected other sources) but look at the network part because it may apply to you…

here it is http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=600544

good luck, it took me a week to get my unsuported laptop to work correctly with ubuntu.