Welcome to HBH! If you had an account on hellboundhacker.org you will need to reset your password using the Lost Password system before you will be able to login.

Am I being Trapped. Encrypted Hash

0 0

Okay, I have this Hash.

aepTOqxOi4i8U

However, it was EXTREMLEY easy to get, the website is very prestigious, and I find it very hard to believe they just have their username and hash of the admin sitting in a passwd.txt file with no security on it, and on top of that, it is that "WebAdmin"'s. I feel like I am being trapped here, how plausible is this?

Also, I am not experienced with command line programs, so it would be helpful if someone knew of a GUI decryption program (or a very simple command line one), one that hopefully uses rainbow tables. I use Ubuntu 11.04.

0 0

Better open the Terminal and learn to use it.

Sounds like a typical WWWBoard Perlscript package, if you had even bothered to research the package you'd have already found the default password.

Don't take this the wrong way but simply looking at a few things probably would have become evident to you anyway.

In the "wwwadmin.pl" script you'll find that the 'encryption' method used is simply the Perl crypt(string, salt); funtion

sub check_passwd {
   open(PASSWD,"$basedir/$passwd_file") || &error(passwd_file);
   $passwd_line = <PASSWD>;
   chop($passwd_line) if $passwd_line =~ /\n$/;
   close(PASSWD);

($username,$passwd) = split(/:/,$passwd_line);

$test_passwd = crypt($FORM{'password'}, substr($passwd, 0, 2));
   if (!($test_passwd eq $passwd && $FORM{'username'} eq $username)) {
      &error(bad_combo);
   }
}

Loads the file, splits the string, checks whether the username and the cryot of the input password matches the stored hash.

So in answer to you question: What ever Perl uses for crypt, you would have needed to reverse or bruteforce it if it had not been the default password.