Welcome to HBH! If you had an account on hellboundhacker.org you will need to reset your password using the Lost Password system before you will be able to login.

RAM installation problems. plz help?

0 0

Hey all,

I have an ASUS k8n motherboard, and I recently bought a 1 gig low density PC3200 DDR stick of ram. I put it in, booted up the computer and it said I still had 1 gig rather then 2 gigs like I should. I did some lookin around on websites and found that some people have had their ram recognized right away, some found that you need 2 of the same sticks for them to properly work (which cant be the case since my motherboard has 3 slots) and some other people have had to reset the "Jumpers" in CMOS so that it can recognize the new ram? I'm assuming this is me…but I have no experience with CMOS and I dont wan't to mess my computer up, any suggestions here? Or has anyone had to do this and maybe could give me a hand so I don't mess it up? :) Any help is much appreciated

thank you in advance all!

0 0

OK this is probably rather due to your ram timings your 1 gig ram stick probably has different ram timing which is what you must first find out its usually on the packet that you take it out from, then go to your bios and your chipset settings and then go to northbridge and then there should be a memory selection option and from there you can change you memory timings of your prefered stick so yeh give a try and hopefully it should work. Oh and you can easily reset your cmos by moving the jumper from 1st pin and second pin(its default location) to 2nd and 3rd pins (make sure your comp is turned off for this step)then wait 20 to 30 seconds and return to default position heres is a more clear layout of instructions.

Locate, if possible, the instruction booklet for your motherboard.You may also want to closely examine the motherboard itself.

Shut down your computer and disconnect the power plug.