Welcome to HBH! If you had an account on hellboundhacker.org you will need to reset your password using the Lost Password system before you will be able to login.

need help with PHP (and preventing XSS vuln)

0 0

I'm new to programming and decided to make a simple Cryptogram decrypter for learning purposes. I'm stuck on part of it though and was wondering if you guys could give me any suggestions.

The part I'm stuck on is "<?php echo strtr ( $cipherString, $input1, $input2 ); ?>"

I want it to also say something like "but if $input2 equals a character in $cipherString, do not echo strtr ( $cipherString, $input1, $input2 );

<?php $cipherString = $_POST['string']; $input1 = $_POST['input1']; $input2 = $_POST['input2']; ?> <form action="phpcryptogram.php" method="post"> Cipher text: (Example: CND FZJNDV JTPPLHVM ZP MVHJ)<br> <input type="text" name="string" id="string" style="width: 100%;" value="<?php echo strtr ( $cipherString, $input1, $input2 ); ?>" /> <p></p> Change character:<br> From: <input type="text" name="input1" maxlength="1" style="width: 10%;" /> To: <input type="text" name="input2" maxlength="1"style="width: 10%;" /> <p></p> <input type="submit" name="submitEntry" value="Submit" /> <p></p> <?php if ( strpbrk( $input1, $cipherString ) ) { echo "Character " . $input1 . " has been changed to " . $input2 . "."; } ?>

Ninja Extreme
0 0

First of all, Hi Prox :)

Secondly, this script has an XSS vulnerability, so I hope you are not using it on a publicly accessable site.

As for your question, you should clarify a bit. Are you wanting to make it so that if any character in $input2 matches any character in $cipherString, don't print?

0 0

"Are you wanting to make it so that if any character in $input2 matches any character in $cipherString, don't print?" exactly

oops about the XSS vuln. lol Mind giving me any info on how I can exploit my own vuln?

thanks for any help

After googling…

So I should probably use input filtering? such as….

$clean = array();