Welcome to HBH! If you had an account on hellboundhacker.org you will need to reset your password using the Lost Password system before you will be able to login.

Project Euler: Problem 28, coded in python

0 0

Hello everyone, I lately have had my spark for programming reappear (had started to learn python a while back) and have found a website called project euler that gives mathematical problems to be solved using your programming skills.

I have been doing decently until I hit a wall, I believe the mathematical foundation behind my code is correct, but it is not giving me the correct answer.

The question can be found here: http://projecteuler.net/problem=28

Here is the code that I used to find the answer (like i said before, I am very new to the programming scene but criticism is always welcome)

diagA = []
diagB = []
a = 1
a_change = 2
b = 1
b_change = 4
b_counter = 1

while loop == 1:
    if a <= 1002001:           # the largest number in the first diagonal
        a=a_change + a         # finds the next number in the diagonal
        a_change=a_change+2    # changes the amount the next number in the diagonal increases, according to the mathimatical rule found 
        diagA[1:1]=[a]         # records new number in the list
        print "yes"            # just used this to show program hasnt frozen
    else:
        print "Done A"          #shows that diagonal A is done and switches loop to begin code for diagonal B
        loop = 2

while loop == 2:
    if b <=1001001:         # the largest number in the second diagonal
        b=b_change+b         # finds the next number in the diagonal
        b_counter = b_counter + 1    #using counter because it was found that the amount of change increases every odd interval
        if b_counter%2 !=0:         # When the interval is odd this piece of code activates
            b_change = b_change+4   # changes the amount the next number in the diagonal increases, according to the mathimatical rule found