Welcome to HBH! If you had an account on hellboundhacker.org you will need to reset your password using the Lost Password system before you will be able to login.

Python Rounding problems

0 0

HI guys,

I decided to write a calculator for Warehouselogistics and practice!

I set up a few vars and everything is working well so far. My only problem is, when it calculates 542 / 32 I get 16. It is 16,94 and should round up to 17.

I googled rounding in python and used int(round(x, 0)). ( x would be 16,94? ). i also tried just round(x) or round(x, 0), i thought for an half hour, but i just can't figure my fault out so i decided to post my problem here.

Edit: I wrote Import math on the top just to be sure If my full code is needed, let me know!

Edit: Could it be because I used variables for the calculation and not any number? I'm pretty new to Python so I don't know the most commands like "def" ^^

Thanks in Advance

0 0

Python doesn't like decimals. Try using the math lib, or other built in libs for decimals and the likes. Trust me, you just need to look harder.

0 0

PROBLEM: I set the numbers and vars to Int, Integer is for round numbers and not any decimals.

right?

b = 28 [ in this case, in my code it is raw_input('length? ') ]

Edit: L = 120 / b

l = 120 / b TypeError: unsupported operand type(s) for /: 'int' and 'str'

Solution: No clue, not yet!

0 0

ghxst wrote: PROBLEM: I set the numbers and vars to Int Why not try setting them to float? Just a guess.

0 0

ghxst wrote: PROBLEM: I set the numbers and vars to Int, Integer is for round numbers and not any decimals.

right?

b = 28 [ in this case, in my code it is raw_input('length? ') ]

Edit: L = 120 / b

l = 120 / b TypeError: unsupported operand type(s) for /: 'int' and 'str'

Solution: No clue, not yet!