Welcome to HBH! If you had an account on hellboundhacker.org you will need to reset your password using the Lost Password system before you will be able to login.

Python Email Program (need help debugging)

0 0

I've modified a program I found in the code bank that uses python and the smtplib module in order to send through Gmail servers. I'm new to python and trying to figure out why the following code is generating errors when run. Any advice?

#! /usr/bin/env python import smtplib import getpass

smtpserver = smtplib.SMTP("smtp.gmail.com",587) x = smtpserver.ehlo() print "Connected to "+x[1].split()[0]+" at "+x[1].split()[4]+'\n' x = smtpserver.starttls() print x[1]

logged_in = False print 'Login Required \n'

while not logged_in: gmail_user = raw_input("User: ") gmail_pwd = getpass.getpass() try: smtpserver.login(gmail_user,gmail_pwd) logged_in = True except smtplib.SMTPAuthenticationError: print 'Incorrect User/Pass combination\n' print 'Accepted' to = raw_input("Send to: ") subject = raw_input("Subject: ") header = 'To:' + to + '\n' + 'From: ' + gmail_user + '\n' + subject + '\n' print '\n'+header+'\n'+'Type your email below, *q terminates\n'

msg='' while msg[-3:]!='*q\n': msg+=raw_input('>')+'\n'

x='' while x!='y' and x!='n': x=raw_input('Send? (y/n): ') if x=='y': smtpserver.sendmail(gmail_user, to, msg) smtpserver.close()

If the code seems convoluted PM me and i'll send you a .txt

0 0

I haven't had a look at it cause like you hinted it looks like eye rape without formatting. Tried the [code] tags? Idk if they protect the formatting? Also post the error outputed it maybe the case that we don't need to run it know the problem.

Future Emperor of Earth
0 0

wolfmankurd wrote: Idk if they protect the formatting? They do, keeps the tabs and all and it eliminates smileys.