Welcome to HBH! If you had an account on hellboundhacker.org you will need to reset your password using the Lost Password system before you will be able to login.

need help with php

0 0

hey I'm just getting it the whole server side scripting thing and I'm working on a couple of websites and I'm trying to start learning PHP and SQL but in order to do that I have to have a server, so I download Apache and set up a LAMP server to start learning. The problem is I have no experience at all with Apache or PHP. So My question is how do I run php scripts? iv goggled and goggled and all it says is to put it in you're root DIR for the web site and open you browser and call the page. the problem is is I don't know how to call it from my computer because I don't know the default host name, and iv messed around in /ect/apache2 folder with the config. files but I keep getting a dead end. Any help or links is greatly appreciated. and also is "/var/www" the sites root DIR?

Future Emperor of Earth
0 0

I'm assuming you're using linux based on your post. On my linux box the location you put your html/php/js etc files is /var/www/htdocs. Judging by where your said you config file is, you're probably on Ubuntu, so it's probably /var/www/http.

Assuming you've got apache configured (you can easily find tutorials for that online), just open your browser and type "http://localhost" and it should display "It Works!" which is the default content of the provided index.html file. You can access other files in your document root for example by typing this url: "http://localhost/testDirectory/testFile.html". You can also say 127.0.0.1 instead of localhost if you really want to.

Admin from hell
0 0

This is clearly covered in the php help manual, Read it if you still have problems. Real cut and dry.

0 0