Welcome to HBH! If you have tried to register and didn't get a verification email, please using the following link to resend the verification email.

mysql account/user login

0 0

Hey guys I just started programming with mysql I have basically finished my account/user script but there's one thing I don't know how to fully "better" prevent mysql injections so I thought I could post my script and you guys could help me out :D

database.php

<?php

$dbname = 'myuser_test';

$link = mysql_connect("localhost","myuser_george","1234") or die("Couldn't make connection.");

$db = mysql_select_db($dbname, $link) or die("Couldn't select database");

?>

login.php

<?php 
include 'database.php';

$user_name = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['name']);

if ($_POST['Submit']=='Login')

{
$md5pass = md5($_POST['pwd']);
$sql = "SELECT id,user_name FROM testdb WHERE 
            user_name = '$user_name' AND 
            user_pwd = '$md5pass'";

$result = mysql_query($sql) or die (mysql_error()); 
$num = mysql_num_rows($result);

if ( $num != 0 ) { 

// A matching row was found - the user is authenticated. 
       session_start(); 
	   list($user_id,$user_name) = mysql_fetch_row($result);
		// this sets variables in the session 
		$_SESSION['user']= $user_name;

if (isset($_GET['ret']) && !empty($_GET['ret']))
		{
		header("Location: $_GET[ret]");
		} else
		{
		header("Location: home.php");
		}
		//echo "Logged in...";
		exit();

} 

header("Location: login.php?msg=Invalid Login");

//echo "Error:";

exit();	

}

?>

<link href="styles.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">

<?php if (isset($_GET['msg'])) { echo "<div class=\"msg\"> $_GET[msg] </div>"; } ?>

<form name="form1" method="post" action="">
User 
<input name="name" type="text" id="name">
Password: 
<input name="pwd" type="password" id="pwd">
<input type="submit" name="Submit" value="Login">
<a href="register2.php">Register</a> | <a href="forgot2.php">Forgot</a>
</form>

home.php

<?php
session_start();