Welcome to HBH! If you had an account on hellboundhacker.org you will need to reset your password using the Lost Password system before you will be able to login.

Which language would be best

0 0

I'm just starting out here, and after doing a few challenges I've become interested in encryption. I'd like to write an encrypting/decrypting program with input fields for the code desired to be encrypted/decrypted and a scroll-down menu for types of encryptions, but I'm not all that familiar with many programming languages. Which language would you suggest to be best to write a program like this?

Thanks.

0 0

If you want something strong, let it be C/C++.

0 0

Python + gtk or Qt.

0 0

I've decided I'm going to learn Python. Wish me luck. :)

0 0

454447415244 wrote: If you want something strong, let it be C/C++.

To OP: this is your best answer.

:(
80 120

Compromise wrote: Python + gtk or Qt.

To the OP: this is your best answer.

Honestly- language doesn't really matter as it's what you write that makes the program run, not how you write it. Sure, each language has its advantages and disadvantages, but those really only come into effect when you're talking about giant big-time projects of which this one is not. I say Python for its ease of use, although its lack of a switch/case could be annoying here.

Ninja Extreme
0 0

I, personally, found python very easy to work with for cryptography stuff, however I don't know that much C and none of C++ so I can't really speak against them.

0 0

I'd have to agree with not going for C/C++, that can be a bitch when going for something GUI based such as what you want. Go for what spy said. Also, please guys, do not make this a damn no language is superior thread, we've got enough of those speeches.

Banned
0 0

It all depends.

Possible languages could be:

Windows: VB, C++, C#, Python, Perl, Java

Linux: C++, Python, perl, Java

Web: PHP/HTML/MySQL, Java