Welcome to HBH! If you have tried to register and didn't get a verification email, please using the following link to resend the verification email.

complete noob question

0 0

I just got sick and tierd of windows, and i was planing to put linux…but i decided not to remove windows coz of my family(games, docs, and stuff like that). So i was wandering how can i put 2 OS on 1 comp…i know i know a stupid question but still i dont know…can any1 help me….

0 0

You have to create 2 minumum partitions. If you have already installed windows and have only 1 partition use partition magic to make another. Then boot linux cd(dvd) and install it on other partition.

0 0

theres two main choices when you dual boot:

A) resize the windows partition and add a linux one. This choice is the cheaper one but it is potential dangerous as if you do it wrong you may lose data. And if you dont know how you wont be able to fix it.

B) Install a second hard-drive purely for linux and set it as the master hard-drive. This is better because if linux donesn't work or you dont like it then you jsut take out the linux hard-drive and boot the windows hard-drive.

I'd advise choice B because it is safer and easier to do.

0 0

with you guy's experience, what would you advise to install? what version?

0 0

Setrop wrote: with you guy's experience, what would you advise to install? what version?

I would say try aas many as you can, not one can tell you whihc ones best form you. I'd Suggest SuSE or Slackware. I've had a good experience with both. Knoppix is good too. Well i think that any distro with KDE is good. As for version i'd say get the newest one of the distro you want.

0 1

i think theres no point in you installing another or second OS.

if you play games, then dont get anything other than Windows.

linux is only good for fairly advanced computer users. if you arent advanced and dont know what your doing, its gonna be nothing but a pain to run.