Welcome to HBH! If you have tried to register and didn't get a verification email, please using the following link to resend the verification email.

web languages

Perl-6 Wisdom Seeker
0 0

hi all, firstly I'd like to say that I take hacking only as a more interesting way of practicing and applying of knowledge I already know, so I'm not looking for respect of the community what so ever. Anyway here is the question: Right now I'm learning javascript and php, then i would like to start asp and sql, so my first question is are there any other more useful languages? Secondly i was thinking of perl, do you think that knowledge of it will be useful in web environment?

thx

0 0

For web scripting you'd probably want a something similar to the following combination:

PHP / ASP - For Server-side things JavaScript / AJAX - For browser side things HTML / XHTML - For making the layout all round CSS - For styling things

Or something like that, I'm no proffesional.

0 0

you dont need ASP. html = xhtml. css takes a day to learn. yes learn perl. for ajax youll need to understand xml.

Perl-6 Wisdom Seeker
0 0

pls correct me if i am wrong, but is ASP=SSI?

Perl-6 Wisdom Seeker
0 0

wtf this connection is seriously bugging … most of my posts are doubled xD

0 0

dont worry about asp, its vb based I believe, and php/perl combinations are in my opinion far greater suited for web design

0 0

XHTML, HTML, CSS, and Javascript are all client-side languages. The first two are ultimately the same, intended on structuring and laying out a single web page. The third, CSS, is for styling text and turning a web page structure into a visually pleasing layout. The final, Javascript, is both intended for visual actions and data-related actions. With Javascript, you can manipulate data and create hashes client-side, perform AJAX operations, and so on. You can also make silly little animations, handle CSS details, and anything of the sort.