Welcome to HBH! If you had an account on hellboundhacker.org you will need to reset your password using the Lost Password system before you will be able to login.

PHP help!

0 0

ok I'm really new to PHP, I like just started learning it about a week ago, anyway heres my problem:

I started working on the basic form with HTML you know the <form> tag. I wanted to make a form with HTML that you enter information and the information which is entered is processed to a PHP script, I used the POST method I'm sure all you know and used the $_POST array to get the names of the forms data. I enter the right names in the HTML form and the PHP $_POST array, this is what the HTML script looks like:

&lt;h4&gt;Tizag Art Supply Order Form&lt;/h4&gt;
&lt;form action=&quot;process.php&quot; method=&quot;post&quot;&gt; 
&lt;select name=&quot;item&quot;&gt; 
&lt;option&gt;Paint&lt;/option&gt;
&lt;option&gt;Brushes&lt;/option&gt;
&lt;option&gt;Erasers&lt;/option&gt;
&lt;/select&gt;
Quantity: &lt;input name=&quot;quantity&quot; type=&quot;text&quot; /&gt; 
&lt;input type=&quot;submit&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/form&gt;
&lt;/body&gt;&lt;/html&gt;

and this is the PHP script

$quantity = $_POST[&#39;quantity&#39;];
$item = $_POST[&#39;item&#39;];

echo $quantity . &#39;&lt;br&gt;&#39; . $item ;

?&gt;

but when I run the PHP on Apache server it comes up with this error:

**Notice:**Undefined index: on line 3

Now I don't know what's wrong but it might be the array, but of course please correct me if I'm wrong

one more thing when I'm testing out the HTML form and submit, it downloads the PHP file into notepad and opens it, not running the PHP script…

like I said I'm very new with PHP and this is just for testing. I have watch alot of tutorials on this subject but can't seem to get it to work.

thanks for your help!

0 0

when you run php on apache, does that mean when you run a php script or when trying to start apache???