Welcome to HBH! If you had an account on hellboundhacker.org you will need to reset your password using the Lost Password system before you will be able to login.

CISSP certification

0 0

I understand that the CISSP certification is for the pretty high grade people and such like that, but is it worth it? I know that I am far from being able to even think about applying for it, but is it worth it in the security industry? A friend of mine is about to take the test, and I've been wondering about it.

0 0

Of course its worth it. What does the test cost… a few 100$ at most (I actually dont know).

It takes a short while to study for it, and its an additional item to put on a resume if applying for a job. It shows more then your knowledge, it shows that you can work for something. I had the knowledge to do my current job long before I graduated, but it was the piece of paper that got me the interview and job.

Companies care about your motivation, willingness to work, and cooperate culture integration, more then the current knowledge you have (though that's important too).

In your lifetime you should if halfway intelligent make millions of dollars. A 100 here or there is statistically insignificant, but if that certificate gets you even 1 job then it was worth it.

0 0

I know that you have to renew it every three years and pay 85 dollars every time you have to renew it, and it covers ten different areas I think… If it is ten, then it can add up pretty quick. would there be any certifications I could get that would help build up to it? I know that every certification has different meaning to employers and all, but I'm not sure which ones have enough staying power to be worth it ten years from now. Like C++, Novell, Cisco and things like that, would they be worth to go out and get certifications for later on and mean something? I probably have another 3 years before I'll be able to get a job in the security industry if it's still my career of choice.