Welcome to HBH! If you had an account on hellboundhacker.org you will need to reset your password using the Lost Password system before you will be able to login.

DDOS experiment

0 0

Hey everyone, i'm relatively new to the forums here, but i've had my eye on them for a while. I'm a student at Eastern Michigan University studying Information Assurance.

Got a bit of a technical question for you all. I'm interested in putting together a simulation of a DDOS attack on a root server. My main problem is trying to figure out how to set up this experiment to scale it so that it makes sense. Honestly, i'm not sure if I could scale it enough to make the project worth while at all in terms of the types of security in place on a root server already and the potential damage that could be done by a large enough DDOS. I figure i'll preempt the question of safety by disclaiming here that I'm doing this in the safety of a lab without an outside network connection.

This idea is still in a sort of preliminary phase of planning, which means i'm still trying to determine the feasibility of such an experiment and exactly what the end result could possibly be, but i'll figure that all out later. Can anyone think of a way I can make something like this work in a scaled scenario?

0 0

Virtual Machines with Windows NT or lower. Windows NT has the capability to send packets bigger then the limit of newer windows OS'. By multiplying these virtual machines you will have a massive attack on a network.

Think of how many virtual machines you can have on a 10,000$ server.

Say

multiple Multi-core processors and 16GB ram.

0 0

Strikr wrote: Virtual Machines with Windows NT or lower. Windows NT has the capability to send packets bigger then the limit of newer windows OS'. By multiplying these virtual machines you will have a massive attack on a network.

Think of how many virtual machines you can have on a 10,000$ server.

Say

multiple Multi-core processors and 16GB ram.